Books by Somov
  • Present Perfect: A Mindfulness Approach to Letting Go of Perfectionism and the Need for Control
    Present Perfect: A Mindfulness Approach to Letting Go of Perfectionism and the Need for Control
  • The Smoke-Free Smoke Break: Stop Smoking Now with Mindfulness and Acceptance
    The Smoke-Free Smoke Break: Stop Smoking Now with Mindfulness and Acceptance
  • Reinventing the Meal: How Mindfulness Can Help You Slow Down, Savor the Moment, and Reconnect with the Ritual of Eating
    Reinventing the Meal: How Mindfulness Can Help You Slow Down, Savor the Moment, and Reconnect with the Ritual of Eating
  • Eating the Moment: 141 Mindful Practices to Overcome Overeating One Meal at a Time
    Eating the Moment: 141 Mindful Practices to Overcome Overeating One Meal at a Time
  • The Lotus Effect: Shedding Suffering and Rediscovering Your Essential Self
    The Lotus Effect: Shedding Suffering and Rediscovering Your Essential Self
Other Works
  • History of the Next Big Bang: an Enso of Nothinglessness
    History of the Next Big Bang: an Enso of Nothinglessness
    by Pavel Somov

    “History of the Next Big Bang” is a neuro-psychoanalytical socio-cosmology.  It is a work of vulgar astropsychology in the tradition of Russian Cosmism and Vedic Cosmology.  This book posits and explores the concept of "nothinglessness" and its implications for the nature of the Universe.

    "If you've been looking for a nonduality writer who shares your tendency for solitary walks down crooked alleys in the Chinatown district of all-that-is, and who admits that 99% of his words are unnecessary, Pavel Somov may be your guy. He delivers an enjoyable, revealing, slice and dice cosmology that is profane, arcane, and ultimately sane. "-Jerry Katz, Nonduality.com

Main | Overcoming Overeating - a Set of 4 DVDs (by CMI Education) »
Thursday
Jun072012

Helping the Perfectionistic Client - 2 CDs

Author: Pavel Somov, Ph.D.
Publisher: Premier Education Solutions 2010
Length: 2 CD(s)
Media Type: Seminar on Audio CD
Duration: 1 hour, 27 minutes
Item: ZDK042360

 

Price : $49.99

Perfectionism is pandemic in the West, yet little is written or taught on how we can help the perfectionist client. Join author, trainer, and clinical psychologist Pavel Somov, Ph.D., for a clinical overview of perfectionism, its existential costs and its associated clinical features. Dr. Somov will share with you experiential strategies for addressing the core dimensions of perfectionism as negative conditional self-view, performance anxiety, and intolerance of uncertainty.

This seminar recording is based on an innovative clinical curriculum for overcoming perfectionism, predicated on Buddhist psychology and mindfulness/acceptance practices. Dr. Somov is praised by seminar attendees as being a “walks the talk” therapist and educator. His writings include: Present Perfect: A Mindfulness Approach to Letting Go of Perfectionism and the Need for Control (New Harbinger 2010) and Eating the Moment: 141 Mindful Practices to Overcome Overeating One Meal at a Time (New Harbinger 2008).

OBJECTIVES

  • Explain mindfulness techniques that help the perfectionist client leverage self-acceptance
  • Summarize how a perfectionist client can overcome performance anxiety
  • Describe the strategy that aids the client in overcoming uncertainty

OUTLINE

Perfectionism at the Root
  • OCPD, not OCD
  • Prevalence
  • Existential Costs
  • The Three Hungers of Perfectionism
    1. Approval/Validation
    2. Reflection/Attention
    3. Control/Certainty
  • Buddhist Psychology: Feeding the Hungry Ghost of Perfectionism

Leveraging Self-Acceptance
  • Redefining Perfection
  • From State View of Perfection to Process View of Perfection
  • Impermanence-Acceptance Exercises
  • Self-Acceptance, not Self-Esteem
  • Disapproval Inoculation Exercises

Cultivating Performance Confidence
  • From Outcome-Emphasis to Effort-Focused Self-Appraisals
  • Rethinking Effort
  • Rethinking Outcome
  • Peak Performance versus Experientially-Perfect Performance
  • Process-Focus Exercises
  • Post-Performance Recovery

Coping with Uncertainty
  • Illusions of Certainty
  • Normalizing Uncertainty
  • Art of Emotionally Pragmatic Assumptions
  • Impasse of Certainty
  • Beginner’s Mind Exercises